Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #24 – “Everybody Loves a Clown”

A quick note by way of introduction may be required here. For quite some time now, certain members of the Richmond WriMos have been trying to persuade me to watch the CW show Supernatural. I  have relented and am now embarking on watching Supernatural via the wonders of Netflix. This series of posts will simply be my first impressions, almost stream of consciousness style, presented in the form of the time elapsed in the episode and my thoughts expressed as bullet points. It’s effectively live tweeting the episodes except I don’t have to stick to 140 characters or fewer. So without further ado here’s my take on:

Season 2 Episode 02 – “Everybody Loves a Clown”

  • 01:55 – We hear a happy couple talking about clowns. I have a feeling we’ve met our first Inevitable Teaser Death of the seaon.
  • 02:13 – It’s a creepy looking clown. It is a Stephen King novel that covers a similar subject.
  • 03:05 – Creepy clown is seemingly only visible to the little girl. I predict she’ll either be horrifically injured or an orphan by the team we see a Winchester.
  • 04:10 – We interrupt this episode of Supernatural already in progress to recreate the Vader funeral pyre from Return of the Jedi.
  • 05:12 – Dean starts the new post-Daddy death trusting Winchester brother relationship by… lying to Sam. He opts not to tell Sam about whatever was whispered in the last episode.
  • 05:41 – A week has passed, and we get to see a shot of the show’s greatest character, the Impala. It looks better than it did, but is still hardly in traveling shape.
  • 06:42 – ” Come here. I’m gonna lay my head gently on your shoulder. Maybe we can cry, hug, and maybe even slow dance.” – Dean to Sam, inspiring another 330,481 slashfics.
  • 08:00 – The substitute car is a beater minivan with faux wood side panels. For some reason, I find that indescribably hilarious. Captain & Tennille on the soundtrack just adds to that.
  • 09:25 – “Oh God, please let that be a rifle.” It is.
  • 09:43 – Dean’s slick disarming maneuver is only mildly undermined when the woman who had been holding the rifle hauls off and punches him in the face. I like her already.
  • 10:20 – So the rifle wielder was Jo (though I recognized the actress as Sonya from Burn Notice) who is the daughter of Ellen. Ellen has some connection to Daddy Winchester. I’m assuming a fellow hunter.
  • 11:45 – Methinks that Dean doth protest too much. He so isn’t over Daddy’s death
  • 12:15- Ash (not that one), the alleged “genius” has a sweet mullet.
  • 14:35 – Jo’s father was a hunter who died. I’m sure this is in no way setting up any parallels between her and the Winchester brothers…
  • 15:19 – It’s not called “Zeppelin IV!” Led Zeppelin’s fourth album doesn’t have a title. I know it’s a Fast Times at Ridgemont High joke, but damn it, these things matter to me.
  • 16:21 – Sam’s afraid of clowns? After all the crap they’ve faced, Clowns are what scare him?
  • 16:23 – Dean’s fear of flying is brought up. I was hoping we would never have to speak of that episode again.
  • 18:08 – That’s a genuinely creepy haunted house. Of course the little snot is ignoring that in favor of his Nintendo DS. I think that may be the most curmudgeonly sentence I have ever written.
  • 19:16 – And now the little snot just aided and abetted murder-by-clown
  • 20:34- Really? They’re going to join the circus?
  • 21:27 – I like Dean rushing just enough that Sam has to sit in the clown chair.
  • 26:25 – The blind knife thrower guy is giving off a weird avuncular vibe. Plus, he has the whole super hearing thing going on. I don’t like him.
  • 27:42- I would think the ugly minivan parked in front of the site of what (I’m assuming) will be the next clown murderpalooza could attract law enforcement attention.
  • 28:42 – The clown sitting up from being shot was creepy, especially as the motions weren’t quite natural. Also, if I’m the parents at this house I’ve just heard a shotgun going off and my kid screaming in terror. Coming downstairs to the see two strange men in my house would not go well.
  • 30:54 – Aah, that patented Winchester family strife finally starting to boil over.
  • 31:18 – So the creepy clown thing is probably a rakshasa. For those of you who have never played Dungeons & Dragons it’s essentially a flesh-vampire from Hindu mythology.
  • 33:23 – Looks like I was right not to trust the blind guy. He’s secretly a flesh eating monster. Worse, he dresses up as a clown for kicks.
  • 35:12 – I gotta say that the haunted house/hall of mirrors does make for a visually distinctive location for the climax.
  • 38:44- Pretty sure we’re gonna see Ash and the Road House crew again. Especially now that they have that demon detector doohickey.
  • 40:28 – I think Dean might have some teeny-tiny anger issues. Also, stop smashing up that beautiful Impala.

I knew the show would have to have a more standalone episode after the monumental events of the last few, and this certainly fits that bill. Unfortunately, it’s also not very good. it isn’t a bad episode per se, but is a very boring one. The mystery of the rakshasa was neat, but seeing essentially the same clown-murder beat three times was redundant. On the plus side the characters of Ellen, Jo and Ash look like they  might stick around for a while. Seeing as they were easily the most interesting thing that happened, that’s a good thing.

One thought on “Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #24 – “Everybody Loves a Clown”

Leave a Reply

