Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #17 – “Hell House”

A quick note by way of introduction may be required here. For quite some time now, certain members of the Richmond WriMos have been trying to persuade me to watch the CW show Supernatural. I  have relented and am now embarking on watching Supernatural via the wonders of Netflix. This series of posts will simply be my first impressions, almost stream of consciousness style, presented in the form of the time elapsed in the episode and my thoughts expressed as bullet points. It’s effectively live tweeting the episodes except I don’t have to stick to 140 characters or fewer. So without further ado here’s my take on:

Season 1 Episode 17 – “Hell House”

  • 01:05 – A group of teens approaching a sinister house in the woods? There is literally no way in which this could go badly.
  • 03:17 – Ooh a hanging dead girl. I guess that does count as scary, though the acting in this teaser is ridiculously camp. I half expect there to be a green-shirted stoner and a massive Great Dane cowering in the corner.
  • 04:03 – Taking a cellphone photo of a sleeping Sam with a plastic spoon in his mouth? I guess the episode isn’t going to be taking itself very seriously. Can this show even do “funny” episodes?
  • 04:38 – Dean used to put Nair in Sam’s shampoo? We finally have an official backstory to the Sam Winchester Hair of Terribleness!
  • 06:40 – Okay this montage of utterly unreliable eyewitnesses is bloody hilarious, and a bit of Blue Öyster Cult on the soundtrack helps it kick butt.
  • 10:15 – I’m pretty sure that one of those graffiti symbols is the Blue Öyster Cult logo. Weirdest product placement tie-in ever.
  • So the symbols aren’t written in blood, but freshly painted. Is someone trying to pull a Scooby-Doo scam for real? “And I’d have gotten away with it if it wasn’t for you meddling Winchesters!” – I think that makes Sam officially Velma. Jinkies!
  • 11:56 – Zeddmore & Spengler? Wow, the only Ghostbusters reference that could be more blatant than that would be a “Who ya gonna call? “
  • 13:09 – So these guys are clearly a parody of what Sam & Dean would be in real life, right? Is the show going meta and mocking itself?
  • 14:13 – Ah, the old “blast the car radio upon ignition” prank, one of my favorites.
  • 17:26 – Actually hanging people seems to be taking this prank thing a bit too far. Don’t be this guy.
  • 18:46 – They did it. They actually did it.They had Dean shout out “Who you gonna call?” Somewhere, Huey Lewis’ legal team just started salivating.
  • 24:13 – Seriously, did Blue Öyster Cult pay to feature in this episode? Also, I’m weirdly proud that I figured out that the sigil was a BOC logo way before Dean did.
  • 25:58 – Itching powder in the clothes. This episode is so immature and goofy, I kind of love it.
  • 26:09 – Shirtless Sam in a towel is purely there for the fan girls, right?
  • 27:09 – D:”People believe in Santa Claus, how come I’m not hooked up every Christmas?” S:”Because you’re a bad person.” I laughed so hard at this exchange that I have soda burning through my nose.
  • 29:21 – Did the dorktastic duo really just say “What would Buffy Do?” My eyes rolled so hard I can see the back of my skull.
  • 31:39 – I guess that’s the paranormal equivalent of a snipe hunt.
  • 32:41 – Exploiting the viral nature of the web to give the Tulpa a vulnerability was very smart of Sam.Gluing Dean’s hand to his beer was a pretty damned good prank too.
  • 36:36 – I guess arson is one way to deal with a haunted house.
  • 38:16 – So was this “producer” really Sam or Dean? I’m saying Sam as it seems too abstract to be a Dean prank.
  • 39:05 – Yep, Sam.

This was a realcurate’s egg of an episode. While it makes sense to go a little lighthearted after the intensity of last time, not all of the humor lands as well as t should. The prank war between the brothers works great, as does there usual back and forth banter.Unfortunately the dorktastic duo just plain aren’t funny while the episode seems to think they are hilarious. I think this show can do comedy episodes, and will likely do them well in the future, this one struggles a little bit. Of course humor is very subjective, so that might just be me.

3 thoughts on “Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #17 – “Hell House”

  1. Pingback: Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #34 – “Nightshifter” | Thoughts of a Lost Limey

  2. Pingback: Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #38 – “Roadkill” | Thoughts of a Lost Limey

  3. Pingback: Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #57 – “Ghostfacers” | Thoughts of a Lost Limey

Leave a Reply

