Lost Limey Watches Supernatural #2 – “Wendigo”

A quick note by way of introduction may be required here. For quite some time now, certain members of the Richmond WriMos have been trying to persuade me to watch the CW show Supernatural. I  have relented and am now embarking on watching Supernatural via the wonders of Netflix. This series of posts will simply be my first impressions, almost stream of consciousness style, presented in the form of the time elapsed in the episode and my thoughts expressed as bullet points. It’s effectively live tweeting the episodes except I don’t have to stick to 140 characters or fewer. So without further ado here’s my take on:

Season 1 Episode 2 – “Wendigo”

  • 01:30 – That was a really good “Previously On…” montage
  • 02:36 – It’s the dead kid from Glee. I’m sure he has a real name, but he’s a;ways going to be “dead kid from Glee to me.
  • 03:43 – Dead kid from Glee is now dead kid on Supernatural. Sounds like he got eaten by a bear or something.
  • 04:21 – I think this show has the X-Files “Don’t be in the teaser” rule in full effect.
  • 05:26 – Okay, the little tribute to Carrie with Jess’ hand did make me jump. Though I was thinking it was a pretty elaborate headstone considering such a short amount of time had passed.
  • 06:37 – “Dad disappearing and this thing showing up again after twenty years? It’s no coincidence.” – Dean Winchester, stater of the bloody obvious.
  • 09:08 – He tells her his name is Dean, then shows an ID with the name “Samuel Cole,” she stared at it long enough and yet no comments?
  • 13:19 – So this wood creature thing is pretty smart then. I’d guess werewolf,except the episode’s title kind of gives the game away here.
  • 13:54 – That’s a bitchin’ scar
  • 17:05 – The sound design on this is excellent. That sounded gruesome as all get out without having to show a dude being eaten onscreen. Smart for budgetary and TV-14 reasons
  • 18:32 – “It’s probably the most honest I’ve ever been with a woman. Ever.” Dean gets the best lines
  • 18:50 – Peanut M & M’s are the best candy ever.
  • 23:09 – I wonder if Sam’s right about it being a Wendigo? If only there wasn’t a spoiler in the episode title, the next nineteen minutes might by all mysterious. Also in the finest Doctor Who tradition, the monster is apparently immune to bullets.
  • 25:50 – Sam kinda has a point. Why are they still her if Daddy Winchester isn’t?
  • 28:49 – Roy’s life expectancy: I’m gonna say 3 more minutes of show time.
  • 28:58 – I may have over estimated Roy.
  • 30:45 – Marvel Comics’ version of Canada has laws on the books for dealing with Wendigo-related cannibalism.
  • 31:30 – KILL IT WITH FIRE!
  • 33:20 – Broken Molotov & missing Hailey & Dean. Less fiery stuff to kill Wendigo with.
  • 33:46 – Hansel & Gretel-ing it with the M&M’s. Greatest candy ever.
  • 35:29 – Well, that’s them buggered then.
  • 37:00 – Tommy’s not dead then. In semi-related news, I may be far too susceptible to jump scares.
  • 37:44 – So this is secretly a gritty Pinky & The Brain reboot. If Sam goes “NARF!” at any point, I’m claiming I called it.
  • 38:04- Why do I get the distinct impression that the line “Bring it on baby, I taste good!” led to much fan girling?
  • 40:01 – Wendigo looks kind of Nosferatu-like and his burning death is very video gamey. Not for the 2005 era CGI, but for how it’s staged & blocked.

Seemed like the stakes this episode was a step down from those in the pilot, and I’m not sure how much I like the idea of hunting for Daddy Winchester as (presumably, I’m unspoiled) a season long through line. I said the Pilot gave off a strong Buffy and X-files vibe. This episode felt like pure X-Files, which is probably due to it being a Monster-of-the-week episode shot in the forests of Vancouver (which was pretending to be Colorado in the episode). It’s even directed by an X-Files alumni, David Nutter.

It reminded me a lot of the first X-Files episode I watched in February of 1995 – “Shapes” about a Native American shapeshifter legend in the western US. An episode that was also directed by Nutter…

Leave a Reply

